top of page

Learn About the United Nations

What is the UN?

The United Nations is an intergovernmental organization created after WWII dedicated to facilitate peaceful cooperation between all nations!

un flags.jpg

The UN, headquartered in New York City is comprised of 193 member states total and is broken down into 6 principal organs focused on the UN's goals: 

- General Assembly

- Security Council

- Secretariat

- International Court of Justice(ICJ)

- Economic and Social Council(ECOSOC)

 - Trusteeship Council(Suspended on November 1, 1994, as it has completed its goals)

For a detailed diagram of the UN organs click here

United Nations

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is the policymaking and representative organ of the UN. The General Assembly: 

  • Comprises of representatives of all 193 member states(it is the only organ where each nation is equally represented)

  • Deliberates on and approves the UN budget

  • Sets goals for the UN and its members(see 17 SDGs)

  • Makes recommendations to other UN organs and members

  • Decides on the admission of new member states

  • Elects members for other UN bodies

  • Appoints the Secretary-General

bottom of page